Day #937

9:03 AM: Grace is having issues connecting to Outlook on her computer. She asked me to submit an IT request on her behalf. Now, the new IT guy is at her desk trying to walk her through the issues…

IT Guy: Hi, how are you?

Grace: I’m good! Except for this technical issue!

IT Guy: Okay, let’s try logging in to the web portal.

Grace: Okay.

Silence.

Grace: I just need you to tell me how to do that.

IT Guy: Oh. You don’t know?

Grace: Nope.

IT Guy: Okay, no one told you?

Grace: Well, maybe I do and I just don’t know it in those specific terms.

IT Guy: Okay, go to MicrosoftOnline.com.

Grace: M-I-C…

IT Guy: No. Not there. Put it up there.

Grace: I was putting it up there.

IT Guy: No, you were putting it in the search bar.

More conversations happen as the IT guy goes back and forth from Grace’s desk before he came back…

IT Guy: Okay, before you put your password in there, do me a favor. Open Notepad.

Grace: Open Notepad.

IT Guy: Yes.

Silence.

IT Guy: Click Start, now type in “Notepad.” There you go. Now type in your new password… Okay, now copy and past it into the password field.

Grace: Wow! There it is!

IT Guy: Yeah, sometimes people are convinced they’re typing their password correctly, but they don’t realize there’s a mistake.

Grace: I guess I was just one letter off! Thank you!

 

Leave a Reply

