Day #827

8:18 AM: Mrs. O’Leary has been on the phone since I got in the office at 7:50…

You know, they need to go back to five. You just don’t make 10 good movies in a year. You just don’t…

He called me a few weeks ago. He’s already trying to plan his birthday weekend. I’m like, “Ya know, Stan, it’s not til the end of June.” He wants to go up to Katherine’s house for a long weekend. And I said, “It cost a little over $100 for us to stay where we stayed. I don’t know if I can do $100 a night. I don’t know if I can swing it.”…

Ugh. Is that this weekend? Dammit. I hate losing that hour of sleep…

Oh, I don’t know what I’ll do. I’ll hopefully get some cleaning chores done. Of course, you know with me, it’s easy to say that I’ll do it, but hard to actually get it done…

On the weekends I usually watch that Turner Classic Movies channel just to see what’s on. Well, the longtime host, Robert Osborne, passed away earlier this week. I got a text about it from Margaret… Yeah, he’s been off for so long, I assumed it was probably due to a health issue or something. They’re doing a big marathon memorial tribute geared all around Robert. He was just a real class act. I always enjoyed his input and he was just a real boost to the show. He will be missed…

She ended the call at 8:28.


11:11 AM: Mrs. O’Leary is on the phone with her other sister now…

I haven’t chatted with you in so long… “What the heck” is right!… Oh, so you’re gonna need a root canal?.. The only experience I ever had with this was when – remember when I broke off my front tooth? I was about 12 and I was riding my bike and went over the front of it. I landed right on my face. I remember this lady came to help me and I asked, “Is my nose bleeding” and she said, “No, but you broke a tooth.” I was like “Whaaaaaaaaaaaat?” Then Mom took me over to the dentist and he said, “You took off so much of this tooth. You’re probably going to need a root canal…”

I remember we took the train and I could feel it was already starting to happen. And then Mom sent me to that butcher and I almost bit his damn finger off. He came at me with that big ass needle and I was in a lot of pain and he wasn’t helping. But once the Novocaine kicked in, it was better. He was way over east somewhere…

Well anyway, I went back to the other dentist when I was about 18 and I hadn’t lost so many of my baby teeth, that he had to pull out 10 or 12 of my baby teeth so my permanent teeth would come in. And that’s how I spent the summer between my freshman and sophomore year…

Yeah… I’m kinda in a well here… Just putzin’ around looking for stuff to keep me busy…

Did you watch any of the highlights? UGH. Inexcusable… Right. They had one job and they got it wrong. That’s all the had to do… What a joke. Really… Well that’s who all the blame is being placed on… Those two with their big, fat checks… Yeah, one on each end of the stage. And there’s two envelopes for each winner… Yep. And you just made a complete fool of yourself in front of how many people? Just SHUT UP! You’re only making it worse.

That intrigued me enough so I rented Moonlight… Don’t. But Seriously. For that movie to trump Hidden Figures for Best Picture. Unbelievable… I’m just sayin’. In my opinion, it won for all the wrong reasons. I did like that one guy, but he disappears after the first half hour of the movie… Best Supporting Actor, yeah. He was really good, but as far as I’m concerned, he was the only interesting character throughout the whole movie. The main character was just… nothing. In all three phases, he was just nothin’… I had never seen the movie “The Help” before. I bawled my eyes out. I did not see the end of that movie comin’ at all. I actually just started reading the book. But I thought Viola Davis in that movie was so good. A genuine, born actress. She just has ‘it.’…

The conversation ended at 11:42.

Leave a Reply

