Day #737

8:45 AM: Carson Kressley has arrived. He’s unpacking his bag and had a question for Phyllis:

Carson Kressley: Did you just have an orange?

Phyllis: No.

Carson Kressley: I smell an orange.

Phyllis: No, it wasn’t me.

Carson Kressley: I mean. It’s… fine… I just really smell an orange.

It was obvious that it wasn’t fine.


10:45 AM: Grace popped into Phil Dunphy’s Lame Cousin to talk about a project. She ended the conversation by saying “I figure, if we don’t get this information from these people by the end of next week, then it’s probably not going to happen until January. Because honestly, even if someone is physically in the office, they’re not mentally in the office until after the new year.”

She was met with silence from Phil Dunphy’s Lame Cousin, who was surely thinking, “Grace isn’t taking any personal days for the holidays and she’ll be the only person on the team in the office… Does this mean she won’t be mentally in the office?”

Is Grace ever mentally in the office?


11:58 AM: Our company holiday party is Friday, Dec. 16. The “Fun Committee,” which consists of a handful of old ladies and one young, but apparently voiceless, Asian woman, has planned a party in the meeting room of a nearby hotel.

Last Wednesday, we were told to RSVP by Dec. 2. I submitted by RSVP promptly.

Today, I received a phone call from a “Fun Committee” member…

F.C.M.: You didn’t RSVP to the party.

Me: Yes I did.

F.C.M.: You did?

Me: Yes.

F.C.M.: Why are you not showing up on my list then?

Me: I’m not sure.

F.C.M.: Hmmm… Let me check… Oh. Yep! There you are! Okay. Sorry about that.

Me: Not a problem.

Now, the “Fun Committee” has apparently extended the RSVP deadline to Dec. 9. We received an email laden with poorly-used Caps Lock that outlined the RSVP process…

untitled

This email will surely throw the old ladies in the office into a tither. I wouldn’t put it past Grace to print up this email with the instructions so she can use them to navigate the obstacles of the voting process.


12:50 PM: Grace just asked “WHAT is going on??” to no one in particular.

Leave a comment