Day #722

8:30 AM: Mrs. O’Leary is on a work call that has taken a turn for the personal. After talking about her Thanksgiving plans, she said…

You know, I think I might just stay at home for Christmas. We always get together with my cousins on my dad’s side. So a lot of my cousins just change houses from year to year and they host an “open house” and everyone goes there a few weeks before Christmas. So one of them invited us over on Christmas day, but I don’t think I’m going to go to that…

I don’t have an aversion to spending a holiday at home watching a good movie. Those are the kinds of days where I don’t have to go anywhere. I don’t have to do anything. I can just stay in my pajamas and watch TV. It gets to be too much sometimes. It’s a lovely invitation, but I don’t feel like I have to say yes, ya know?

I know of another person who didn’t feel like they needed to accept a Christmas invitation…


9:11 AM: Phyllis began giggling at her desk. After a few seconds of no one asking what she was laughing about, she decided to share with the class anyway…

Oh, I got a pop up reminder that Thursday is Thanksgiving! I wouldn’t have known otherwise. Thank you!

Note: I didn’t get a pop up reminder, so that means she probably put that reminder in her calendar herself.


9:50 AM: Now Mrs. O’Leary is speaking with her Aunt…

I actually already have the turnip all cut up and sitting in a pot of ice cold water with the lid on it… Well, the sweet potatus’ are kind of a no-brainer. From what I read, you turn on the oven, put ’em in, let ’em cook for maybe a good hour or so and then they’re supposed to be done after that… Yeah, except, when they’re done, you slice ’em open and you peel off the skin. And then right before you serve ’em, I’m gonna do what mom used to do and plop on a little bit of butter and sprinkle some brown sugar on ’em and then maybe just pop ’em in the microwave for a coupla seconds just to let that stuff kinda carmelize on top and then you have your sweet potatus’… Oh, there ya go. Maybe I’ll just do it before I bring ’em out. They’re not gonna stay piping hot or anything. But hey, if people want to eat ’em, they will. If not, they won’t…

Mrs. O’Leary is going caramelize her sweet potatoes in the microwave and somewhere in a faraway place, Julia Child is turning over in her grave.


1:37 PM: Mrs. O’Leary is back on the phone, this time with her sister who is hosting Thanksgiving….

I was just calling Party Central to see how things are going. Give me the low down… The kids’ table! I always take the kids’ table. I like the kids’ table!…

Oh, I’m just at work, wishin’ it was Wednesday instead of only bein’ Tuesday. And we do get early dismissal tomorrow, so that’s good… But I’m pretty set on the home front. No, no. I’ve got big serving spoons. I can bring my own… Yeah, I’ve got Pyrex dishes that I always put that in. I’m doing that and I’m gonna try my hand at sweet potatus’. We’ll just have to take turns with your oven…

I was coming down with a migraine on Saturday and I really can’t afford to get sick because I can’t take any time off, so I just went straight to bed and it was gone. I guess I just needed some sleep…

I saw the movie on HBO, about Jessie Owens. I did not care for it. Not at all. It just wasn’t interesting. I thought, I don’t know, maybe it was the writing. You know, Jeremy Irons plays the head of the International Olympic… William Brundage or whatever it is? But you know, I didn’t find their characters — nothin’.

The phone call ended at 1:58. She has had at least three of these conversations today lasting more than 20 minutes. And after the calls, because she’s been stuck at her desk so long, she rushes outside for a smoke. Life is tough.

Leave a Reply

