Day #702

8:20 AM: Phyllis walked in with a chip on her shoulder…

Phyllis: Grace, are your sons baseball fans?

Grace: My younger one is, but my oldest could not care less.

Phyllis: My daughter had her boyfriend over to the house for the game last night. I had forgotten what it was like to have a young man in the house during big sports games. I’m sitting in our kitchen and I can hear screaming coming from the family room across the house.

Grace: My sons were never quite that bad, but I once went on a work trip where a guy who was with us was watching a game during dinner and when they scored, he brought this big bell out of his bag and rang it for the restaurant to hear.

Phyllis: Well, thankfully there was no bell, but I’m listening to him and it was like a siren call from the other side of the house.

Sounds like Phyllis has grown accustomed to this empty nest thing. She sits in her corner and reads or knits while her husband sits in absolute silence.


10:17 AM: Our mail room guy came over to Mrs. O’Leary to drop off a package…

Mrs. O’Leary: Thanks for bringing this. Did you watch that movie I recommended to you?

Mail Room Guy: Oh, right. I forgot. What was it called?

Mrs. O’Leary: It’s such a good movie. And the music that goes with it is great too. “Moonrise Kingdom.”

Mail Room Guy: That’s right. I’ll be sure to watch it.

Mrs. O’Leary: Please do. Do you want me to write it down for you?

Mail Room Guy: Uhh… sure. Yeah, go ahead.

Mrs. O’Leary: “Moonrise Kingdom.” You have got to watch it. Have I ever steered you wrong?

Mail Room Guy: No you haven’t.

Mrs. O’Leary: Exactly.

If I trust anyone with a movie suggestion, it’s a woman who has never known love, lives alone and hates every day she spends on this earth.


2:30 PM: I had a meeting with Grace and noticed her Halloween nail polish. She’s got long acrylic fingernails. Eight of them are painted orange, but her two ring fingers are gold glitter. She is nearly 60.

Leave a Reply

